Watch out for this sneaky 'domain name' trick

Today's Adventure in the Biz Opp Jungle:

'In which Charlie hears a sneaky little domain name
trick from his "computer insider", Uncle Reboot...
and alarm bells ring when he sees
"Gamble2retire".'
 

Hi,

A few months ago I suggested a fantastic little resource for you.

It's definitely one to try if you find your computer frustratingly slow... can't get to grips with technology... have been ripped-off online.... don't know which software or hardware to buy... or you're the type who regularly ends up screaming at your PC and banging your head against the desk.

ie. You're like me.

I'm talking about a free email newsletter called Uncle Reboot's PC Confidential, published by Kontakt.

It offers loads of advice, shortcuts, reviews and tips. Anything to make your life easier, get your computer running faster, protect you from fraud,
and save you cash on rubbish products.

Anyway, check it out:

http://www.unclereboot.com/
 
The reason I mention it again is that good old Uncle Reboot's email last Sunday had a good little scam warning in it....

A sneaky money-grabbing trick to watch out for

It works like this...

Through your mailbox drops a 'Domain Name Expiration Notice'.

It requests that if you want to keep your domain name (whatever web addresses you have recently bought or reserved) you MUST reply by a specific date....

Otherwise you will lose it!

You might panic, at this point. And fair enough, the notice is set up to look like a bill. There are payment terms for one, two, or five years. And it gives the CORRECT name of your domain.

All in all, it looks legit, above board, and very urgent.

They even give you the option to get your hands on similar domains. For example, if you have easymoneytips.com, they might offer easymoneytips.org or easymoneytips.net.

It's tempting. But don't make the mistake of filling in the form and sending it in with your payment.

If you do, you'll get potentially waste a lot of time and money....

Why you'll end up paying more - for a technical headache

You see, the notice is actually an invitation to SWITCH to the domain registry of America, instead of the people who look after your current
domain.....

(You'll find this out if you read the small print.)

If your Internet Service Provider (like BT for example) is your domain registrar - then this will throw up lots of technical problems. You could have a real hassle with this.

Worse, the Domain Registry of America prices are £18 per year. That's compared to the $10 per year deals you get elsewhere.

Uncle Reboot advises:

"If you get one of these notices, read it carefully. By all means switch registrar if you want to - but know you're doing so. And know that it could cause a headache with your current internet service provider."

He offers another good insight....

"These notices tend to arrive when your domain still has four or five months before renewal. Check the dates - you'll usually find there's no hurry to act."

Screwed by AD Associates?

Here's an interesting email I got after last Sunday's Biz Opp Jungle...

"I too have responded to ad associates, real con artists, but whilst reading your piece I had an idea, They always enclose a first class pre paid
envelope, if 1000 of our ripped off associates people sent back a blank sheet of paper it would cost them £340...  a drop in the ocean to them
perhaps but a start"

Nice idea!

Why it's not a good idea to gamble to retire

Lately I've come across this website by a guy called Jerry Adams. Not he of Sinn Fein, I presume (how mad would that be?)

It's called "Gamble2retire". The second I saw this, alarm bells rang.

Firstly, I'm not sure it's a good idea to "gamble" in order to do set up your retirement.

If you want a guaranteed retirement income with low risk and a long future, you need to start your own home business. Buy low, sell high. Or offer a service that people will pay for.

That's it, plain and simple.

This is true whether it's import-export, trading, investing, Ebay, Amazon bookselling, publishing email newsletters, or creating Family Trees for
eager, paying customers.

That said, if you have spare cash and like a flutter, then you should get your hands on as much decent betting information as possible.

Better to follow a system than blindly gamble.

So let's ignore the gambling element, shall we and look at his claim.

 "Who Else Wants To Start With $144 And Make
Up To $7,800 Each Month Betting On Sports?"

Okay, again, alarm bells. This sounds a LOT of money to promise. I've looked at plenty of sports betting services, and this isn't the sort of claim the decent operators make.

Compare this to the honest and realistic sports betting promise made by 'Mr X' of Oxfordshire Press:

http://www.shopatoxonpress.com/INSCWW/

Mr X is a UK based odds compiler who knows that the only thing you can promise is that he'll consistently put the odds on your side, finding
'value' bets.

He's been doing this a long time, and I trust him far more than this American huckster with his website images of scantily clad ladies  clutching fistfuls of cash.

Also note this section of Jerry Adams sales pitch...

"When you become a member of my 'elite sports betting club', just paper test the picks without betting real money. Do this for a few games or the whole month. If you don't like the profits you made, just cancel your membership anytime. It's that simple."

Sounds fair, right?

But it's not 'risk-free' because he also says:

"Doing this allows you to just risk $144 (your initial sign up fee and first month) to see that the picks are real deal without using real money. Once you see they are the real deal, you can then start making great profits each month."

Why should anyone have to risk $144 in the first place?

Can't they get that money back if he fails to deliver?

Hmmm....

One to avoid, in my humble opinion.

That said, if you're a scantily clad millionairess, as depicted on Mr Adams website, and you disagree, be sure to let me know!

Later alligator,

Charlie Wright

The Biz Opp Jungle
www.bizoppjungle.com